top of page
  • Writer's pictureiliso_ ekapa

The Witch Doctor's Daughter

Artist: Isadoze Nhlanhla Mbuyiselo

by Mustapha Jinadu


1.


I am the witch doctor's daughter


My father passed away in a car crash, while speeding away from town. away from his sons.

car with him when the accident happened and I believe that his sons were pursuing me and not him, because they heard that I planned to kidnap their nephew.


We were both very drunk when the accident happened. we went the wrong way onto a one way bridge,because i wanted us to elude our pursuers. As we flew we smashed into a truck headfirst. the truck climbed the left side of our vehicle and crushed my father and a passenger in the backseat behind him. they both died. I was on the right side. The front passenger and i survived.with a crushed pelvis and lacerated eye.


2.


he was laughing, and i was laughing, i said

we are home free.by tommoro morning i will be on my way, to london.

he was laughing at me.

No one is chasing you. When you get to London send me….


I couldn't hear what he said i should send him. There was a horn blaring and we saw the red lights of a truck.we saw the truck floating toward us. We felt like ghosts in a dream. I can't recall what happened after this.seeing the red lights and hearing the blaring horn. drowning our voices. When I woke I was in a hospital.


3.

4.

5.

6.

7.

8.

9.

10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

18.


he said

many of us who are alive worked out our salvación from the presente doom through our devoted work in our past 30000 lives and this life too.theres nothing such as luck.

I know how it ends.I will always hold on to faith. It is a song strange: I will live and die naturally. I am safe. My faith is in my untimely death.the Men will find me here.but i know not how.


19.

20.

21.

22.

23.

24.

25.

26.

27.

28.

29.

30.


AND I HAD A FRIEND

driving me wrecklessly on a motor bike through traffic on our bridge.i squeezed his waste and begged him to slow down or be care. I relaxed when he shunted and rode us down the steps away from Smashing iron


fell


toward pale green water


the steps had


ended. I prepared to crash into the ocean and prayed to myself. Boy not to panic but float and paddle myself to the columns attached to the bridge.


The Man who fell with me.the driver carried me through swimming and pushed me to the column base.he was my friend. I was praying that though i live i shouldnt suffer nightmares from this how i could have died.


31.

32.

33.

34.

35.

36.


i tried to relax, so as not to panic or cry, since it was inevitable. I was going to drown. I relaxed a little and found myself sinking, into the cushion, and tried as much as possible not to think about my family, having to mourn me. Then I thought about my father, I tried not to think about him, that he would no longer be visiting me, since my head was drowning.


Mustapha Jinadu is an unemployed self ordained Shaman living in Lagos City, receiving visions through trance: spontaneous transmissions in a spiritual cave projected onto pages/ expressly and directly with out modifications in syntax and artificial grammar; nothing is error but everything is accidental.

180 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ladin

bottom of page